¡Bésame!

One of my favorite things about Spain…The Kisses!

I’m a hugger back in L.A. I’ve always been a hugger.  But that was generally reserved as a warm way to say hello or goodbye to good friends or my tightest colleagues.  But Spain loves kissing, double cheek kissing, and it’s not just reserved for your besties.  Admittedly, I was a bit awkward with it at first but I’m getting better.  It’s sort of like Hollywood air kissees only more sincere.  For awhile I was overthinking it.  Do I go right? Or left? What if we end up on the lips?  Does the arm go around the shoulder at the same time?  A couple of times I reached out to shake hands with someone and ended up holding their hand while kissing each others cheeks.

couple

By now I’ve had a bit of practice but I’m still working out the kinks.  I let the other guy (or gal) take the lead.  There are not just Spaniards here but folks from other countries, so I try to be respectful of all cultures.  So far, I’ve received kisses from a fellow mom upon meeting her for the first time, my son’s basketball coach and even my daughter’s male teacher.   It’s definitely made me feel more welcome here in Spain!

One thought on “¡Bésame!

Leave a Reply

